My Thoughts…Not Yours

Range Day

We went to the range today with my new .40 cal Smith and Wesson, Military and Police 40. It certainly kicks more than the 9mm, however its nothing you can’t compensate for and overcome in a very short amount of time. After a couple boxes I was firing tight groups with a controlled pair fairly easily. Expectantly for the .40 cal,  Michelle seemed to be having some difficulty, although today was the first day she shot a handgun…ever. Therefore it was pretty much familiarization day with her…which turned out to be a massive  success being as she was 10 times more comfortable with the weapon as compared to when we first began. Next weekend we’ll work on her ability to spread that recoil out throughout her arms as apposed to her shoulders and head. She did really well regardless and hit 95% of her shots at 7 meters and a comparable amount later on at 25 meters.

Personally I was extremely impressed with the weapon. At 7 meters you could notice it shot a little to the left… although all the groups were tight and would have stopped anyone. Once I moved onto the 25 Meter targets the windage certainly needed to be adjusted, which is expected as the sights were still at their factory settings…yes you can adjust the rear sight on the M&P 40. The change in the trajectory wasn’t nearly as much as I expected with the .40 cal and would require negligible adjustment at a target standing around 25 meters. Which means you would not have to make a conscious adjustment to the elevation in regards to your sight picture if you needed to drop an individual at such a distance…which is nice to know, although 25 meters is an impossible distance for a weapon bought and used primarily for home defense only. I really wish I could take this thing down range with me, as it performs hand over fist over the M9.

Click Here To Watch

Click Here To Watch Michelle

Click Here Too

*Yes the caps were required by the range management in order to shoot…hence her patriotic headgear.

Next week, she fires a 12 gauge…prepare yourself for the hilarity. (Don’t worry, she’ll only have one shell at a time)

2 responses

  1. sean hutchisson

    Adam has the full size and the compact in 40 and he loves both. Wise choice! I’ve got a Glock 22 chambered in 40, and I think that’s one of the best rounds you can get. Plenty of stopping power, readily available, and reasonably priced. The full size isn’t too bad to carry with the right holester. Do you have a concealed carry permit down there?

    February 8, 2010 at 1:32 pm

  2. That’s awesome, I am very happy with the choice….both the weapon and the caliber. I couldn’t imagine anyone/anything I would come across recovering quickly from a shot that size regardless of the placement. I don’t have a concealed permit primarily because they aren’t allowed on post, and that’s where I spend 95% of my time…When I come home we are gonna have to hook up, I’m dying to fire the .40 cal Glock in order to compare and contrast. Its such a legendary sidearm.

    February 8, 2010 at 7:31 pm

Leave a Reply

